Relatively old movie movie review

I always like a good movie, however after some movies I find myself wondering why I just sat through several hours of garbage. It’s almost like if I see the start, I am inclined to see the entire movie. This recently occurred, and I can never take it back.

lets just stand here and check out this massive explosion, seems like a good idea for the protagonist

2012, the one with John Cusack, it’s truely awful. To start everyone off, I would like to present quotes from The New York Times, The New Yorker and Rolling Stone (respectively), as they say what I am intellectually incapable of describing,

Despite the frenetic action scenes, the movie sags, done in by multiple story lines that undercut one another and by the heaviness of its conceit.

Emmerich’s (the director) main achievement is to take a bunch of excellent actors, including Danny Glover, Thandie Newton, Chiwetel Ejiofor, and Woody Harrelson, and to prevent all of them–with the exception of Oliver Platt and a pair of giraffes–from giving a decent performance.

Beware 2012, which works the dubious miracle of almost matching “Transformers 2” for sheer, cynical, mind-numbing, time-wasting, money-draining, soul-sucking stupidity.

woops, watch out for that train mr. airplane.

Worst movie of all time. This might be an exaggeration, but I have to be honest with you, I really really hated it. This might be because I wasn’t in a great mood when I saw it, or because I first had to sit through it in spanish and then after watching it in english I was amazed to learn that my translations weren’t bad, it’s just awful dialogue. It was just so stupid it made me mad.  Worst part of it, I sat through the whole thing. I blame myself for this, but also wonder what made me do such a thing. The movie just did nothing right; the graphics were over the top and lame in a manner that made it too distant and unbelievable, the acting was god awful, the sub plots were ridiculous to the point of wanting to actually experience the end of the world and all the characters had the moral fiber of a hypocritical, homicidal mime. In any case be warned, this movie will kill more brain cells than a hearty glass of grain alcohol.

Or maybe it will just kill you, can’t say for sure.

3 thoughts on “Relatively old movie movie review

  1. Yeah, man. 2012 cheeses out on cliches pretty hard. It’s tough to say what’s THE most excruciating element about it. I’d say its films’ derivative moral compass. It has the same karamtic system as a bad 80’s horror flick and has absolutely zero novel contributions to mileau of pop culture.

    Just a taste: The sexually active or greedy characters are all killed off becuase, you know, that’s not cool. The stepfather (Thomas McCarthy) is axed only to more conveniently allow John Cusack to rekindle his romance with his ex-wife (gag) and we’re actually all supposed to care about these fucking people getting onto some boats at the end when the rest of the world is already wiped out by this stupid fuckin’ wave. As if any of these people matter…

    At over two hours, this heaping shit pile of a movie stinks for far too long. (Tangential rant over.)

Leave a Reply

